Big Baby Love Blog

January 1, 2009

Quorn “Chicken” Stir Fry

Filed under: Fantastic Toddler Recipes — Jennifer @ 10:28 am
Tags: , , , ,

The Quorn “chicken” pieces in this are really filling so try and hold out for as long as you can and eat it as late as you can…that way you won’t be tempted to snack afterwards…trust me, you will still be full to the brim!

SERVES 1 ADULT AND 1 TODDLER.

INGREDIENTS – 500 grams of stir fry vegetables, 1 Blue dragon sachet of Hoi Sin and Garlic sauce, 1/2 pack of Quorn “chicken” pieces, a splash of Olive Oil.

DIRECTIONS – Put a splash of Olive Oil into a Large Frying pan or Wok. Pour in the vegetables and fry for 5 minutes. In the meantime, pierce the film lid of the Quorn chicken and place in the microwave for the required amount of time (see reverse of pack). When done, put half of the tray into the frying pan and then the Hoi Sin sauce on top and stir it all together. Cook for a further 4 minutes, serve and eat!

You will need to chop your toddlers serving up into smaller pieces as the veg may still be a little crisp..you could always leave his in the frying pan for a bit longer until nice and tender.

2 Comments »

  1. I think that this is a disgusting way to prepare food, not only for yourself, but for your toddler. Spreading this “quik-fix” way of eating, to other impressionable mothers, is terrible.
    Quorn chicken pieces are a good alternative to eating chicken itself, due to its high-protein, low-fat content, and if you compare how much water and feed is required to produce a kilo of beef, as opposed to a kilo of veg, it’s a vast difference, thus reducing our carbon-footprint.

    If I was to make this recipe for myself and my loved ones, I’d buy fresh ingedients, and fry them myself, instead of relying on pre-cut and processed vegetables which have been shown to have significantly less vitamins than their fresh counterparts, as well as you’d probably have left other vegetables to make other recipes.
    I would also either cook or fry (with a little oil or in a non-stick pan) the Quorn chicken pieces themselves, as food that has been prepared with the microwave
    A) have cancer-causing effects
    B) destroy nutrients in foods and
    C) exposure to microwave emissions has an unpredictable and negative effect on the biological welfare of humans.
    – Russian and Germans conducted research from 1957 to the present at The Institute of Radio Technology at Kinsk (source: http://www.willpowermatrix.com/public/107.cfm)

    I realise that as a mother of a young child, this may seem to be an impossability, having the time and patience to keep an eye on what you’re cooking as well as your child, but I feel that this would benefit both you and your childs health in the long run.

    Comment by Nattykins — August 8, 2009 @ 10:37 pm | Reply

  2. Nattykins, firstly let me thank you for taking the time to respond to my toddler meal idea. Some valuable information and imput however, I must stress that the majority of households do own microwaves and use them every day. Also, the stir fry vegetables have been listed as just that, so it is down to the individuals choice of which particular vegetables they use in this recipe. Please bare in mind that the whole point of my recipes are to provide a nutritious meal on a “budget”, and having a very low family income myself I know how hard it can be to make your money stretch. Not everyone has the choice of buying fresh vegetables, another reason why I didn’t specify the type of vegetables in my recipe.
    On another note, the vegetables I use personally, are fresh (bean sprouts, carrots, sugar snap peas etc) and I didn’t once suggest that they were processed or out of a can etc. I don’t see where you got the “quick fix” from as hearing that phrase,I would automatically think of microwave sausage and mash, tinned baked beans, oven chips etc! I certainly wouldn’t have used the same brush to tar a vegetable stir fry.

    Thanks again for your comment.

    Jennifer
    xxx

    Comment by Jennifer — August 10, 2009 @ 6:18 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.